Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (RSC 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950 under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada. The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 89 local agencies in the field.

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration is responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives and the National Gallery of Canada.

Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters at Ottawa, termed the "inside service". The Civil Service Act of 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside as well as the inside service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It also gave the Civil Service Commission various other responsibilities in the field of personnel administration including responsibility for promotion, for classification of positions and for recommending rates of pay.

The Civil Service Act of 1961, which came into force on Apr. 1, 1962, has three main features. First, it preserves the independence of the Civil Service Commission and carries forward and strengthens all the fundamental principles of the merit system. Secondly, it clarifies the role of the Civil Service Commission in those other areas of personnel administration with which it is concerned but which do not bear directly upon the merit system. Thirdly, it confers on staff associations the right to be consulted on matters which have to do with remuneration and conditions of employment.

The Act applies to about 130,000 employees in all the departments and certain agencies of government and this constitutes the "civil service" within the legal meaning of that term. The "public service" is defined as those departments and agencies which are listed in Schedule A of the Public Service Superannuation Act and which embrace about 180,000 employees including the 130,000 under the Civil Service Act. This definition of public service does not include certain Crown corporations.

The Civil Service Commission, which is responsible only to Parliament and not to the executive government, consists of three members, one of whom is chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and has the rank and standing of a deputy minister. The Commission has a staff of over 700 persons located in its headquarters at Ottawa and in its field offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Moncton, N.B., Saint John, N.B., Quebec, Que., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., London, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Toon, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., Calgary, Alta., Vancouver, B.C., and Victoria, B.C.

Department of Defence Production.—This Department was established on Apr. 1, 1951 under the provisions of the Defence Production Act (RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended). Under this Act the Minister is given, with certain exceptions, authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor General in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that theretofore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence-supporting industries, particularly of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. The main procurement units of the Department are five production branches—Aircraft, Armament, Electronics, Machine Tool and Shipbuilding—and a General Purchasing Branch. Major offices for foreign procurement